Ho-Ho-Holy Sh*t, What Just Happened?

Are we really NINE days into the new year?!?

Let me begin by saying this post was started on December 27th. Just 2 days after Christmas. The fact that it is now 2 weeks after Christmas goes to emphasize my point here. And the theme of my blog – “spinning faster”. Just thought I would point out that little gem – you’re welcome 🙂

Moving along…

For anyone who has ever experienced the “shot” in which you are attacked by a woman in a bar, spun around really fast, molested, fed liquor upside down out of a test tube and then asked for $20 – you know how I feel right now.

My house looks like the remains of a cat. 5 hurricane and the last 2 weeks are a blur.

the remains

the remains

Maybe it’s all one giant food coma.

There. was. so. much. food.

Maybe Santa tinkered with my clocks so he could nap at my house…probably ate all the brownies too. That definitely wasn’t me.

In any event I am dizzy & confused.

Since last Christmas, when Easton was just a little “mango” in my belly, I’ve been looking forward to this year’s holidays, building it up…all the FIRSTS!

I worked so hard to make it all special, to savor it. Then sonic warp speed kicked in.

Everything was zooming by, paper was flying, cameras flashing, champagne was popped, there were lights, and hugs and parties and more champagne and there I was just trying to turn my head in the right direction at the right time so I didn’t miss any of it.

I admit I am slowly adjusting to the new fast-pace at which time disappears these days…but the sonic warp speed brought on by the holidays is just something I don’t think I’ll ever grow accustomed to. Yes, it has already been 2 weeks since Christmas. Yes, I still come home to a yard full of lights only to turn on my Christmas tree for one. more. night.

I’ll take it all down tonight.

Tomorrow at the latest.

Ha. Who am I kidding. It’s Wednesday. That sh*t can wait until the weekend.

In reality, I can’t say it is the nostalgia or even post-holiday gloom that has me putting off on the inevitable. Anyone who buys a real tree will understand that leaving it up for one. more. night. actually becomes a bit more depressed than uplifted when the tree looks like something out of a Dr. Seuss book. Seriously, I’ve never seen a tree droop or bend like that. Maybe one more week and the ornaments and lights will have all fallen off on their own. Wouldn’t that be a nice little treat!

In reality, I CAN say that I am just spent. Done. Fin!

The tree can live to die a little more tomorrow. The neighbors can all sleep a little easier knowing they’re not the last to take down their lights. I for one, am going to cut myself some slack and unwind at my own pace.

What really matters is that Easton had a WONDERFUL first Christmas  & he doesn’t seem the least bit disheartened by our droopy tree. On the other hand, the dust balls he acquires while crawling down the front hallway…well, those may need to be addressed a tad more quickly.

Eh, I’ll add it to my list of resolutions. Bring on the New Year – this momma still has one more bottle of champagne!

2 thoughts on “Ho-Ho-Holy Sh*t, What Just Happened?

Leave a Reply

