HOW do you discipline with a straight face??

I heard something the other day that struck me…I can’t remember exactly how it went (because, well that is just out of the realm of my capabilities) but it was something to the effect of ‘being a mother is easy…being a parent is hard’

I realize I’m still at the early stages of this whole “parenting” thing…but I admit I am already baffled.

I know…doesn’t take much to baffle me, does it?

My son is the cutest thing I’ve ever laid my eyes on, how could I ever be act mad at him?! (oh wow, I just felt the parents of every teenager simultaneously roll their eyes at me even as I type this). I am in awe of everything he does, every movement, noise and expression. Even when he cries.

…especially when he cries. (Mother of the year –> right here)

oh, I could just kiss that little furrowed brow!

Oh, I could just kiss that little furrowed brow!

Yes, it breaks my heart into a million pieces, but it’s without a doubt the most adorable thing in the world. And here, my friends, is where my problem lies….I CANNOT help but smile and laugh (yeah, Mother of the year, I know).

At the ripe old age of 7 months, this innate reaction has actually been a benefit to me. He cries, I laugh, he starts laughing, he stops crying…all is right in the world. I win.

And then it hit me.

Literally, it hit me. A glob of peas to the face the other night. I “fussed” at him for grabbing the spoon as I am putting it in his mouth (consequently pulling the pea-scented-goo out of his mouth and dispersing it ever so evenly everywhere).

I felt his heart break. The bottom lip stuck out a solid inch and then came the tears.

Talk about mommy-guilt. He wasn’t even doing anything wrong, just trying to figure out this whole ‘eating thing’…and I wasn’t even really fussing at him. But he didn’t know that, all he knew is that mommy got a straight face and sounded mad.Of course, with the pouty face and sweet pitiful tears, I couldn’t help but scoop him up (giggling) and smoother him with kisses. As usual, as soon as mommy starts laughing, the troubles are forgotten and he wants in on the jokes. But it was this moment when it occurred to me…I’m doomed.

I’m never going to be able to keep a straight face when I start to actually discipline him. Even when he was still a bean in my belly, Christian and I would sit on the couch laughing about the first time he gets in trouble at school for acting exactly like us and how I’m going to have to play bad-cop while Christian hides his laughter.

Sure, in theory it seems do-able. Keep a straight-face and mom & dad can laugh about it together later. But, given my track-record thus far I know…one glance at the puppy dog pout and I’m a goner.

I mean, really….it IS hilarious.

PEAS!

Please note the peas. Everywhere!

Leave a Reply

