Let’s make better decisions, Kelly

I would like to begin by thanking my sister, Karie, for unearthing what you are about to see. For the record, THIS is not what I meant when I asked you to put together an album of childhood pictures for the wedding.

Some people have bad hair-dos, boyfriends, lipstick colors, or wardrobe choices they look back on years later and laugh to themselves, going “WHAT was I thinking?!!”

I have all of these. But, I’m sure many of you do.

However, I win this game…because I also have this:

Image

this is my gangster face. be scared.

oh yes. The Halloween I decided to be Vin Diesel from the movie xXx. I couldn’t find a picture of it, but I distinctly remember meticulously attempting to replicate all of his tattoos…then threw in my custom addition of ~VIN~ on my chest…just to help people make the connection.

WOW

In my defense, I was a teenager. I was at that point in adolescence when your hormones start to really kick in. Ah, I remember that year. I finally started to sprout my own *pair*, I’d blush fifty shades of crimson every time I saw a cute boy, and suddenly strong arms are HOT. I was awkward and shy and trying to find my own personality.

It was all very confusing.

Enter Vin.

HELLO muscles! I think this was my first non-teeny-bopper-heart-throb.

Let’s please take a moment to pause and laugh at me. HAHAHAHA.

Lucky for me, all it took was one shameful ex-boyfriend who somewhat resembled Vin to end this phase. I now only see him for his terrible acting.

And the world is right again.

I can tuck this little gem back into the depths of my memory, give it a shot of whiskey and let it slip slowly into the cracks to live happily ever after. Maybe I should arrange a mixer for it to mingle with images of that pixie cut from ’91, tie-dye glasses from ’93 and pretty much every dance costume from ’01-’03.

What were some of your questionable decisions?? And PLEASE feel free to share pictures. Pictures are always welcome here. This is a safe space… 🙂

2 thoughts on “Let’s make better decisions, Kelly

Leave a Reply

